AMD XP 2600+ freezing on windows load

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• AMD XP 2600+ freezing on windows load

First of all, I have to crap the people that I got my barebone from... Don't buy from PCsSuperSite.com whrought Ebay or through their website... Very crappy customer care and service.. Whatever... Any questions you may have about my experience, just msg me...

My question is.. I have an ECS K7 board and 512 DDR333 ram that does not function on the first slot but the second.. And my CPU does not run higher then 2000+.. When I try 166 through bios and restart my processor works at 2600+..
    Basically, If I go higher than 2000+ my computer will freeze while the Windows XP welcome screen comes up...

The CPU has a generic heatsink with a not very strong looking fan (I'm pretty new to AMD OC)... So that might be a problem.. I f anyone wants a picture of inside my case to see the cpu cooler private msg me with your email..

any help is appreciated...

Is the memory Pc 2100, 2700, or 3200 ?
    the 2100 does not work well with the Barton cpu's.
    That may be your problem, IF that is what you have.

Comment

Originally posted by transistance
      I have an ECS K7 board and 512 DDR333 ram that does not function on the first slot but the second
      Originally posted by rperk8
      Is the memory Pc 2100, 2700, or 3200 ?
      rperk8, it looks like he already answered that ;)

transistance, what is the multiplier set to when you put the fsb at 166 (which should be the default for a 2600+). The problem you seem to be experiencing normally only occurs with bad overclocking. Also, what are your memory timings set to?

Comment

:snip: You're right. My bad.

Comment

Gee I hate mobo's made by OEM manufacturers just as much as I hate ALi and SiS mobo chipsets but what is the actual mobo model number as K7 begins the model number on over 20 boards listed by them. This thread also doesn't belong in this forum either so it'll be moved now.

Comment