WD or maxtor?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• WD or maxtor?

Hello Fellas. Which HD should I buy WD or Maxtor? Whish is more stable and reliable? I've been using Quantum Fireball for 3 years with no problems, but they stop making them. What do you guys suggest?

Thanks for any input.

Looper.

Both make 8mb cache versions w/3yr warranty and I use both. Maxtor in my wife's rig, WD in mine. Am pleased with both. I'm sure others will have other opinions though.

Comment

Originally posted by bigjackusa
      Both make 8mb cache versions w/3yr warranty and I use both. Maxtor in my wife's rig, WD in mine. Am pleased with both. I'm sure others will have other opinions though.
      Thats a new one for me...8mb cache Maxtor drivespretty cool... IMO i will go for WD which also have the 8mb cache, and I believe that they were the first ones with it. I haven't had a problem with my one 30gig Maxtor that is 5 years old. Everything else i have used is WD. They make great HD and no one ever seems to complain about them as they do with Maxtors. Maxtors aren't all that cheaper to WD anyway. I would go with WD.:)
      - Damien

Comment

I have had reliability issues with older Maxtor drives and several others are having problems with the newer models. Unless you can get a sure thing on the warranty, it may be worth your while to just get the WD version.

But if you do decide to go Maxtor, MAKE SURE YOU BACKUP ALL YOUR DATA!
        Old age and treachery will overcome youth and skill
        My Toys

Comment

Hmm Ive got an 80gb Maxtor in my rig for the past 4 months and it hasnt had any problems;) Maybe I'm just lucky but the drive seems to be working perfectly :thumb:

Comment

Quantum got bought by Maxtor a couple of years ago. I've probably put 50 Maxtor drives in machines in the last few years and never had one go bad.

FLaCo

Here's the 8mb Maxtor: