Cannot delete certain folders in Win XP

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Cannot delete certain folders in Win XP

Strange thing I've come across. I've noticed that I have a bunch of folders in Program Files that are completely empty (with Hidden Files visible), yet I can't delete them. I can't ascertain exactly what they're for as well, but when I try to delete them, some say that they are in use by another user, others say that access is denied. I try to change them to be non-read-only, but whenever I try, it always gets set back to read-only. I have no knowledge of putting them there in the first place, which is also somewhat strange.

Here's a list of the folders - all of them empty.
    • microsoft frontpage
    • NavNT
    • Windows NT
    • xerox
    • MSXML 4.0

Like I've said, they seem to have no importance, yet I cannot delete them, and they're all stuck on read-only.

Any help would be appreciated.

The folders are empty, but they probably have hidden files in them.
    CPU: Opteron 165 @ 311x9 - 2817.8 mhz - 1.47v
    Mobo: Abit KN8-SLI
    RAM: 2x512 Crucial Ballistic Tracers500 @ 202 mhz 2-2-2-5 T1
    GFX: Asus EAX1950pro @ 648/1408
    PSU: Thermaltake 500w
    SC: Audigy 2 zs
    LCD: 22' Samsung 225bw
    Speakers: Klipsch ProMedia 5.1 Ultra
    Mouse: Logitech G5

Comment

*sigh*

As I said above, I have (and always) set Windows Explorer to display hidden files.

Comment

they are probably part of the windows system itself.

Comment

No, I doubt that's it. When I first installed Windows XP, I never had them there, and only about two or three weeks ago did they appear there. I also have the latest updates for Norton, Ad Aware, etc., so viruses and such shouldn't be a problem. I haven't installed anything major in that time frame as well, aside from the odd game or two.

Comment

sorry, they are always there
            but if you find out how to remove them, let me know, i dont like them either

Comment