Help the Retard

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help the Retard

Disclaimer: I have limited hard-core computer knowledge. Yes I bought a pre-configured Gateway and have done some stupid, stupid things to it. Please don't flame me, this is about the last place I can look for help without paying someone.

Windows XP has violated my machine (actually its probably more like my habit of uninstalling and reinstalling stuff like a jackrabbit) to the point where I'm planning on reformatting the hard drive and reinstalling XP and starting over. I was wondering if someone could answer a few questions first:

1) I have Microsoft Office and Word Student Edition on my machine. Should I uninstall these before reformatting? This is an issue as I've tried and it gets half way through the uninstall before freezing. These are expensive programs and I don't want to be unable to reinstall them after reformatting.

2) I only have 256 Mb of RDRAM on my machine but I plan on upgrading to at least 512 in the near future. Should I reformat before or after I add the RAM? Will XP act like a turd if I add more RAM at the wrong time?

3) Speaking of RAM, could someone reccomend a few places to price-shop? The Gateway outlet I bought my machine from has a large object greased and ready to ream my wallet if I buy from them.

4) Is there any guide I'm too stupid to locate on this site or anywhere else that would help guide me through a reformat? My roommate could, but I won't see him for awhile. He's the kind of person who could build a computer from two rubber bands, a paper cup, and a bananna peel.

Thanks a lot for helping.

The format will wipe everything on that partition and here's a guide, http://www.tweaktown.com/document.ph...de&dId=324, and rememeber only to use the tweaks that won't effect your use of your setup. This will be ya next read then, http://www.tweaktown.com/document.ph...ew&dId=411 ;)
    <center>:cheers:</center>

Comment

I second what Wiggo said.