Intel Q9550 + P45R2000 OC- need help @ 3.6Ghz

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Intel Q9550 + P45R2000 OC- need help @ 3.6Ghz

Hi guys,I'm kinda new to overclocking, but I've been reading a LOT of :stuff: lately ...at the moment, I'm stuck

Hardware:
    MoBo: AsRock p45r2000
    CPU: Intel Q9550
    RAM: Kingstom HyperX 4x 2GB DDR3 1333 CL9
    Cooling: arctic cooling freezer 7 pro
    GPU: Saphire Toxic Radeon HD6850

I've set motherboard jumpers to 1600mhz FSB as writen in manual... So that makes 400mhz FSB for my CPU, multiplier 8.5 = 3.36 Ghz.
    I've changed the mobo pins, so that my ram would still be at 1333mhz. At this point, everything is OK, CPU fully stable under load, 38 degrees
    celsius idle, never exceeds 65 degrees on load: 3.4 Ghz @ CPU. At the moment, I've managed to get FSB DRAM ratio to 1:1 (with BIOS setting
    for DRAM frequency on AUTO) and now I'm running at 430Mhz CPU bus speed = which makes a total of 3616 Mhz for the CPU.
    But it is not as stable. BSOD in games... and even on 420Mhz @ CPU bus it makes a lot CTD...

Prime95 gives up on first two workers right after start.
    Intel Burn Test gives an error after less than one minute.
    Here are my settings:

Link:http://i224.photobucket.com/albums/d...2150/Q9550.jpg

Well, most of them... If you need info from BIOS let me know.I know that Q9550 is easy to OC to 4.0Ghz.
    I would like to make it stable @ 3.8 Ghz... if it's possible in any way. Any suggestions, help, I would be really grateful.

Thank you.
    Last edited by zip2150; 03-03-2012, 12:11 PM.

Re: Intel Q9550 + P45R2000 OC- need help @ 3.6Ghz

Ive no experience on clocking 775 cpus on asrock boards or clocking 775 cpu's with ddr3 memory but my second pc (see sig)

I now run at 3.8 (x 8 multiplier) with a 475 ref fsb.
    the voltages are down a bit from this post, cpu 1.32v in bios, mch like 1.34 v , ram 2.01(higher than ddr3 of course) v etc.