z77extreme4 boot problems

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• z77extreme4 boot problems

I just put together my system yesterday, and everything seemed to be working fine. Installed software, multiple reboots etc, no problems. Then I started playing with AXTU, the overclocking software. Had it at 4.6 ghz, all was fine. Pushed things further, and the screen froze. Hit the reset button on the front of the case, and it started to reboot. Foolishly, I hit the clear CMOS button on the I/o ports on the back. When it rebooted, I tried getting into the BIOS by tapping the delete key with no luck. Dr. Debug showed error A6 (SCSI detect) and stopped there. Tried letting it reboot, and it stopped on error A2 (IDE detect), but if I hit the delete button, it would flash A9 (Start of setup) for about half a second, then back to A6 where it would stay. Tried many times, all with the same result. Tried the clear CMOS button on the back, and using the jumpers. Did these the proper way, unplugging the power, waiting 15 seconds, then moving the jumper, and still keep getting the A2 and A6 errors. Any ideas? Not sure of the BIOS version, but bought the board new January 23, so it should be fairly recent. Any help greatly appreciated.

Re: z77extreme4 boot problems

Sorry folks, I thought this would have carried over from my registration.
    Intel 2600k
    XFX 6850
    8 gb Corsair Vengeance 1600
    Corsair force3 120gb ssd, 750 gb WD black, Windows 8 pro. I moved everything from an ASUS z68 LX board and it all worked fine, no reinstalls needed. Loaded some of the drivers from the Z77 cd.

Comment

So you can't get into the BIOS due to the POST error(s). The CMOS clear set all the BIOS settings to default, which may be related to the POST errors.