Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

ASRock Z87 Extreme6, Windows 8 Pro 64 bit and Secure Boot.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• ASRock Z87 Extreme6, Windows 8 Pro 64 bit and Secure Boot.

Hello everyone! This is only my 2nd build ever and my last build was 5 years ago. I'm totally new to most of the new tech and OS. I'm a simple home user using a non-RAID setup and I'll mostly be doing normal tasks and gaming with this PC. I would also like to take advantage of the built in security settings of Windows 8 Pro 64 bit.

I just build this rig this past weekend. Is it really worth reinstalling Windows 8 to enable Secure Boot? What settings would I need to change in the pic below to turn on secure boot? What other settings like Secure Boot (what's the deal with the keys) would I need to change before installing? If there are other settings not related to secure boot I should check (like ACHI, RAM frequency, etc.) please let me know. The UEFI has a ton of settings.

I found this guide on installing Windows 8 in UEFI mode and enabling Secure Boot. UEFI (Unified Extensible Firmware Interface) - Install Windows 8 with

With their method the disk was formatted with GPT. Is this mandatory? What are the drawbacks? Can I still image the drive?

I found the above link from this link.
    Secure Boot - Enable or Disable in UEFI

I guess I need a step by step guide of what to check or change in the UEFI before installing Windows so I can activate it and make an image for safe keeping. I just found out about Secure Booting today so if there are other cool features I don't know about please let me know about them and what needs to be done to enable it.

Also, I'm on BIOS version 1.40 I think. I've been getting the occasional lock ups. Should I update it to 1.90 first? Should I keep one BIOS 1.40 and another 1.90? (not that I know how to do that yet).

P.S. Did you need to install the LAN driver like I did before you could activate Windows?