Z87 Pro4 and Raid 10?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Z87 Pro4 and Raid 10?

Though I've been working with computers for forty years I just made my first venture into RAID. After reading the specs on my MB and reading lots of Internet information I decided to change my Raid 1 array to Raid 1+0 array. After dropping $250 for more drives and spending a weekend creating fresh system images it was finally time to power it up.

I made all the updates to the BIOS and continued on to the Raid configuration menu being forewarned that my next selections would send all the existing data on my drives into oblivion. I scrolled through the Raid configuration choices until I got to what I wanted to see; "RAID 10 (RAID 0+1)." WHAT!!!? That's not Raid 10! That's Raid 01! Surely just a translation error.

Not given the 1+0 choice I wanted, I blindly kept on creating the volume only to be disappointed. Indeed it was an array of 2 striped discs and 2 mirrored discs, Raid 0+1, not Raid 1+0. Just to add insult to injury, my 4, 1TB WD drives had been turned into a single 1.83TB volume. I lost the capacity of 2 drives, not 1 as should have been the case with a Raid 1+0 array.

I don't understand the reasoning behind not offering the choice of a real, more fault tolerant, more storage friendly, Raid 1+0 array. Not to mention all the specs calling it out as a Raid 10 when it is a Raid 01. IMO, a Raid 0+1 array has limited purpose on a desktop computer. It may be a tad faster but certainly not as secure.

I hope there's someone out there who can tell me where I went wrong.

Re: Z87 Pro4 and Raid 10?

I assume you are using the Intel RAID capability of your board, with the Intel RAID IRST driver?

This is Intel's description of RAID 10 from the help documentation available from the Windows IRST GUI:

Click image for larger version

Name:	intel RAID 10.PNG
Views:	1
Size:	66.0 KB
ID:	753974

It sounds like you wanted a RAID 1 + 0 as described here: