p35-ds3l rev2.0 wont boot

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• p35-ds3l rev2.0 wont boot

Hey everyone, I'm new to the tomshardware forums. After searching the web for days I've not found an answer to my problem.

I have a system running a GA-P35-DS3L with a 2.4 ghz Q6600. It ran great for about 3 months. Last week when I went to power on, the computer remained at the bios screen (where it says press del to enter setup, f9 for Xpressrecovery2, etc..) and wouldnt boot up windows. Unfortunately, the guy I had build my computer didn't feel like installing my <nobr>speaker</nobr> and now its lost. So I may or may not be hearing a series of beeps that would diagnose the problem.

After that I booted back up, and after a long wait at the bios screen, I was able to get to the windows loading screen where it stayed for a good 10 minutes before booting into windows. After that I formatted and everything seemed to be working again. Until I restarted after installing drivers and software. The computer went back to long waits at the bios and windows loading screens. I've tried formatting multiple times and I keep getting the same results.

I thought that maybe I should try flashing my bios, but I have no floppy drive. I found information on how to make a bootable CD and have done so. The CD does work as a boot disk, but I can't get it to read in Q-flash. When I enter Q-flash, it only lets me choose A as my drive rather than R... and when I just press any key to boot from Cd it takes me to a weird screen.

Anyone have any ideas on what to try next?

Re: p35-ds3l rev2.0 wont boot

ok heres what it says when i boot from Cd

Boot from CD/DVD:

1. FD 1.44 MB System Type
    Caldera DR-DOS

CD-ROM Device Driver for IDE (four Channels Supported)
    Driver Version: V340
    Device Name: TOMATO
    No drives found, aborting installation

Device Drive not foudn 'TOMATO'
    No valid CDROM device drivers selected

The Bootfiles are in drive letter A: