Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• RAID Drivers

Hi to all,
    As you can see from my sig I'm running a RAID set up and using the latest drivers supplied in the Catalyst 8.11 release (1540.47).
    These drivers seem rather slow especially when booting, where the green process bar will actually stick for 10 seconds! I've tried using different drivers with the most success coming from the 1535 version which are very quick with a fast boot time. The trouble is if I use these I then start to get out of sync with my drivers as I'll have different versions running different things which eventually lead to blue screens..
    I'm relatively new to running a AMD chipset as I've always had nforce boards in the past although I always use a RAID set up.. Has anyone else come across this and if so are there any solutions to this particular problem. I have to say that apart from the boot times the RAID runs pretty fast so no qualms there really.
    Thanks

Re: RAID Drivers

What you could do is extract the Catalyst drivers and then manually install the RAID Driver you want by right clicking the Inf for it (Or update via Device manager with that Inf)

When you install catalyst, the packages are extracted if you did not know to a folder, then the real installer starts and uses those extracted files. You can get the drivers you want from that folder, or you can manually extract the file via right click (You may need winrar installed?) and choose extract here

The folder where those get extracted is normally >>>
    C:\ATI\SUPPORT

Comment

I never could link the delay of that green bar with the new Catalyst driver but yes, the 8.11 boot process are much more time consuming compared with the 8.10.
      Will try to go back with the driver and will post the difference here.
      Anyway, for me it is not a big deal since I do not get any catastrophic event using the computer.
      GA-Z97-D3H Windows Pro 8.1
      i5-4690K + Corsair H90
      Sapphire Radeon R7 240