Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

trying to get the ram up to right speed?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• trying to get the ram up to right speed?

i hope someone can help me..ive read through some of the posts but i cant figure out what to do...i am pretty new to this and im stuck... i just bought the gigabyte ga-ep45t-ds3r/ds3 motherboard and 2x2gig (patriot memory) PDC34G1600ELK (DDR3 1600MHz 9-9-9-24 1.8v) with the board being 1600 fsb and ddr3 can be overclocked to 1900...i am only getting the memory at 1333 and windows reports the ram at 3.25GB. i think i heard that since im using windows xp pro sp2 i can only get 3.3 out of my 4 Gb of memory...is that true? the processor is at 3.0GHz.. so what i wanna know is how much can i overclock the the 3.0GHZ to (what settings can i do before it becomes unstable),am i only gonna be limited to 3.25GB from the ram instead of the full 4GB, and what do i need to set the bios to so i can run the ram at the number that its supposed to be(1600) and not what its at right now(1333)... hope someone can help..thanks in advance...ROB...sorry..i forgot to add i used memset3.6 just to see whats up...this is what it says...my memory is ddr2 666.8MHz fsb/dram 1:2. I changed the timing from 7-7-7-20 to 9-9-9-24(those are the numbers on the sticker)... i dont understand how thats possible that it says the ram is ddr2 when its supposed to be ddr3.
    Last edited by weaz4200; 12-27-2008, 03:14 AM.

Re: trying to get the ram up to right speed?

Yes, Windows 32bit only sees around 3.25GB of Ram - it's a 32bit OS limitation. You can overcome it by using a 64bit OS.
    GA-P35C-DS3R Rev2.0 F11 bios, E8200 (@3.0Ghz), OCZ DDR3 PC3-10666 Reaper 4GB (@1200Mhz), Xonar D1, 8800GTS 512, Corsair HX520 (Single 12volt line, Max 40A), WDC 3200aaks/5000aaks in AHCI mode, Vista 64 Premium.

Comment

thank you for that response...but what about the other stuff i asked...anyone that can help..id appreciate it.

Comment