Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New Computer Keeps Shutting Down

Hi,
    This is my first time posting on a forum for computers and yesterday was my first day building my own computer, so I am sorry for my lack of knowledge in certain areas. But here is my problem, my computer turned on the first time and seemed to be working fine, all fans were running and images appeared on my monitor. After about a minute it then just shut off. I then unplugged the power supply and rechecked all of my connections. When I turned it on again it ran for a longer period of time allowing me to start installing my OS. After copying the files and the installing of the program began, it shut down again. After that I could not get it to run past trying to do the install again. At this point I shut everything down, removed the memory and the video card and all of my power connections and cables. After reinstalling everything, I continued to have the same result. It would sometimes let me sit in BIOS without shutting off, but sometimes it would continue to do so. While in BIOS one time, I checked in the "PC Health" section and noticed that I was getting alarmingly high cpu temp. readings of 95-105c. So I immediately shut everything down and removed my cpu heatsink and fan to see if it was seated properly and that it was making contact with the cpu. I saw that the thermal grease had melted and spread on both the cpu and heatsink, so I think it should have been making contact. I reinstalled it and tried again to only have the same result. After giving up for the night, I just started up the system again for the first time today and checked the temps right away, the system itself sits at about 30c, but the cpu started at about 60c and immediately began to rise to the 90s while sitting idle in BIOS. I don't know what to do anymore and would really appreciate any help or guidance anyone could give.

Here is my system:
    Intel q6600 GO
    Gigabyte ep45-ud3r motherboard