Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• EX58-UD5 Can't Install Operating System

Hi,
    This is my first build and I am having problems installing an OS , I tried windows 7 from a flash USB and it manages to load the install screen but then the install option does not appear. I tried it in my laptop and it worked fine. I then switched to vista dvd and the exact same thing happened it loads up fine but then the option to install never appears. I can still move my mouse cursor around the screen so it definitly has not frozen.

Any ideas?

Re: EX58-UD5 Can't Install Operating System

Can you please post a image of this window you are getting?

What is your full specs, and how do you have your drives connected and what settings per disks do you have set in the BIOS Integrated Peripherals BIOS page?

Can you try it again with Legacy USB Storage Detect Disabled in the BIOS? This may not work as it may never find the USB Stick to boot to, but worth a shot. Along with that being disabled, also try your install DVD again and see if that works now with that setting disabled

Comment

Hi thanks for the reply, I managed to install windows just by waiting for a couple of hours.

I updated the bios. but now I can't boot at all from usb hdd. Any idea how to fix this

Comment

Waiting a couple hours? What do you mean, you had to leave the window up for hours or what? Hope not!

Well glad you got installed anyway! Did you find the cause or not?

To Boot from USB Stick you have to be sure "Legacy USB Storage Detect/USB Storage Function on X58" is enabled in the Integrated Peripherals BIOS page, then hit F12 at startup to get to the Boot Menu (Boot Order in the BIOS does not matter) and choose HDD, then on the next screen choose your USB Stick by name and boot to it. The USB Stick must be plugged in the whole time of course

Comment

Thanks, that worked and the bios update seems to have fixed the installation issues.

Comment