Realtek sound issues

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Realtek sound issues

Hi. I have a EX58-Extreme. Everything is stable with my i7 on stock cooling @3.0 (done by the system builder - I am a bit of a noob when it comes to this, especially the i7 architecture). I have only a problem with the sound.

I have a 5.1 speaker system which on test playback plays fine. But:

1. How can I enable 5.1 sound from stereo mp3 or other sources? I cannot find the equivalent cmss3d anywhere in the realtek sound manager.

2. Using a media player, I did enable through its mixer 5.1 sound, but the rear (side labeled by realtek) tend to crackle. On doing a bit of browsing, someone suggested it is the DES that causes this crackling.

3. Why do I not get the universal realtek sound manager screens when I have installed the realtek latest driver from realtek's site? It still shows Gigabyte on the windows. On one of the screenshots of the universal realtek sound manager there is a check box 'speaker fill'. Why is this not there on the gigabyte sound manager?

Can anybody help? TIA.

Re: Realtek sound issues

A quick google search using:
    realtek "speaker fill"
    looks like there are some answers to your questions.

Which operating system are you running?
    What is the brand and model # of your 5.1 speaker system?

Disable DES to see if this helps.
    Have you tried switching the "rear" speaker connector with the front speaker connector to see if the crackle changes?

Download the freeware DPC Latency Checker to see if this might be part of the problem.
    Q9650 @ 4.10GHz [9x456MHz]
    P35-DS4 [rev: 2.0] ~ Bios: F14
    4x2GB OCZ Reaper PC2-8500 1094MHz @5-5-5-15
    MSI N460GTX Hawk Talon Attack (1GB) video card <---- SLI ---->
    Seasonic SS-660XP2 80 Plus Platinum psu (660w)
    WD Caviar Black WD6401AALS 640GB (data)
    Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD (boot)
    SLI @ 16/4 works when running HyperSLI