Ok. I am a noob, and I need basic help

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Ok. I am a noob, and I need basic help

Hey guys, I was referred to this forum because I am looking for some help on how to OC and was told the community is awesome and would help out a noob like myself.

So basically I understand the very basics of what overclocking is, but I have never done it before and I am a bit afraid to break something haha. I have a q9550 and I am looking to see if I can get some more performance out of it, as I have heard over and over again it's a pretty easy chip to OC. Below are my specs

q9550 2.83ghz core 2 quad
    GTX 460 1gb
    4gig DDR2 ram (Kingston HyperX DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 1066 Cas Latency 5 )
    Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3L
    windows 7 ultimate 64bit
    700watt PSU

I game a ton and I am just trying to see if I can get some more out of the chip, so I don't have to go out and buy an i7, new motherboard and ram.

I really am a noob and I apologize for being dumb, but I'm just looking for some help on what kind of bios settings I should use, etc, etc. Thanks in advance!

Re: Ok. I am a noob, and I need basic help

Welcome aboard.

Please read this post and post additional information as explained in steps 1-4.
    The EP45-UD3L can OC nicely a C2D processor, no idea how far it can take a C2Q, I guess we're gonna find out.
    What is your OC goal if you have any?

Comment

To anyone that is brand new to OC'ng: Don't forget to make sure you have suitable cooling to OC. As a rule of thumb, you should have something better than a stock cooler to OC. However, it is certainly possible to OC with stock cooling...just not advised.

Comment

Thanks guys. Below is all the info you should need ( to start off I am hoping to do a small increase and get the chip to around 3.2ghz )

Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3L Ver 1.1
        Bios: Award Modular Bios v6.00PG
        Intel Core 2 Quad q9550 2.83ghz
        Kingston HyperX DDR2 1066 ( 4gigs )