Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• GA Z97X-UD5H fan headers

Hi,

Will probably use this board for my first ever build. Reviews are moaning about fan header placement at the bottom. I'm new to all this, so do I need some kind of extension cables to reach fans at the top of the case? Haven't any parts yet.
    GA-Z97X-UD5H rev1.0, i7-4790K
    Noctua NH-D15
    HyperX fury 2x8GB 1866MHz
    Crucial MX100 512GB SSD, WD Black 3TB HDD
    MSI GTX980, Cooler Master V850
    Fractal ARC XL
    Sound Blaster Z
    Samsung 24x SATA DVD writer

Re: GA Z97X-UD5H fan headers

Originally posted by Mr Blobby View Post
    Hi,

Will probably use this board for my first ever build. Reviews are moaning about fan header placement at the bottom. I'm new to all this, so do I need some kind of extension cables to reach fans at the top of the case? Haven't any parts yet.
    Since this is your first build, and you have not listed a case or other parts I would hold off buying any extension cables until you get the board mounted in your choice of case. However, depending on the case it's not unusual to need to extend some fan cables.

I make all my cabling from scratch but that is probably more than you want to jump into.
    Good luck with your build.
    Maximus 8 Hero/6700K @ 4.8/4x4GB LPX @ 3200 15-17-17-36 CR1
    Case Labs SM8 w/dual pedestals / Custom water w/ acrylic pipe / Light box
    PowerColor 390Xw/EK block / Samsung 840 Pro 256GBx2 RAID 0 / 128GBx1 SSD's | 3 HDD's / DVD burner
    Dual Aquaero 5 Pro controllers for pumps & fans / FC9 for led's only 2xD5 pwm w/Bitspower tops - MCP35x2 - 3x480 rads/1x240 rad/AP15 fans / EK supremcy
    Seasonic Platinum 1000w custom fabbed/sleeved psu wiring by me

Wifes: Z77X-UD5H / 3770K w/c with Raystorm copper block & 2 Rads/ Kingston HyperX RAM / Switch 810 case/ PowerColor AX7950 w/EK block
    HTPC: Z68 Pro3 M / 2105