Need Help Any1 Plz

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Need Help Any1 Plz

Hi all you tweak town members out there! Hope us are all good.

I need some help overclocking my computer.

It's a:

P4 3.0ghz
    asus P4S8X motherboard
    512 ddr 333 memory
    and a Ati radeon 9700, but i think it may be a 9700pro i'm not sure ( its red if that helps )

it's supposed to be a 9700 but when i downloaded the catalyst drivers, it comes up as a 9700 pro in the control panel, display.

Anyway, i'm a newbie ( i changed the jumpers on a 300mhz to make it a 333 a few years ago ) so will some1 plz give me some1 advice.

Also, i read a review on my motherboard and it said that asus where bringing a bios update out that increases the performance by quite a bit, but i don't know how to update it.

HELP!

Martin Riches, Newcastle, UK

and flash your updated bios.............but, any changes you made regarding the jumpers..........well, i don't know if flashing the bios now wouldn't screw you up if for some reason you created a compatibility issue

Comment

I've been to the Asus website and the latest driver they've got for my bios was made in 2002, however they've got a beta driver made this yr. How do you flash your bios?

Also, do you know anything about the ati radeon cards? what colour is the pro board?

Comment

Well from the looks of your board and memory you won't be doing much overclocking...thats an SiS chipset which means it has no AGP/PCI lock.

Comment

Correct me if Im wrong but I do believe the AGP/PCI frequency is locked on that mobo

Comment

Thanks for the replies, i've just flashed my bios to a newer version!

I was wondering about the setup of my bios, in that i don't know how to set it up for optimal performance.

Also, can any1 answer my question on the graphics card? is the 9700 pro a red circuit board or green, or how can i tell what it is?

Thx

Comment