Lanparty/2400+ OC

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Lanparty/2400+ OC

Ok...I'm a real noob when it comes to overclocking...

I need to know where to start on overclocking my new pc I just built:

Lanparty NFII Ultra
    AMD 2400+ CPU
    One stick of "Crucial" memory-PC3200 512mb
    9800 Pro videocard w/128mb
    Axio case with 400 watt PS

I know squat about all these "mutipliers" and voltage setting.

Has anyone out there overclocked a system similar to mine? What are some good "Genie BIOS" setting to start with that won't force me to install a water cooler or anything else to elaborate?

Any help? <<< what are these things anyway??? lol

You shouldn't need to install anything if the overclock is small enough. I managed to get an additional 500 MHz out of my Pentium 4 2.5a with virtually no temperature increase, and you should be able to do similar as long as you have good airflow in your case and a good fan.

You could always try flashing - changing the amount that is multiplied rather than the actual multiplier (try your Power & Voltage settings in your BIOS). This will also increase your RAM speed as well. That's what I did, and I'm happy with it, though it's potentially more dangerous. If your motherboard doesn't allow for you to enter a number but instead gives you preset settings, then I'd stick with increasing the multiplier rather than flashing.

Sorry about the lack of responses...sometimes posts get drowned out if there are a lot of others.

Comment

Temperature increase only happens when you add more v-core i think, besides that temperatures should stay around the same.:cheers:
      CPU: Opteron 165 @ 311x9 - 2817.8 mhz - 1.47v
      Mobo: Abit KN8-SLI
      RAM: 2x512 Crucial Ballistic Tracers500 @ 202 mhz 2-2-2-5 T1
      GFX: Asus EAX1950pro @ 648/1408
      PSU: Thermaltake 500w
      SC: Audigy 2 zs
      LCD: 22' Samsung 225bw
      Speakers: Klipsch ProMedia 5.1 Ultra
      Mouse: Logitech G5

Comment