Overclocking wear and tear?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Overclocking wear and tear?

Has anyone ever experienced overclocking wear and tear??

For example i've been running a [email protected] for a few years now (though it's never significantly over-volted <1.45v or overheated <60C). When i started overclocking it, i could run prime for 8hr+ and it was always stable.

Fast forward a few years and now I can't run prime for 1 hour without bsods even though all the bios settings are exactly the same as it were a few years ago. There's also no major change on the hardware side except i replaced my 2GB ram with 4GB although of same make, model, and timings. I noticed that I can stabilize the system at the cost of more vcore than what was needed before... so is this a classic case of CPU degradation?

Oh, I should mention I switched over to windows 7 but I don't think I heard of anyone else needing more vcore to run a stable win7 machine vs XP/vista or did they?
    Last edited by mrnoobie123; 10-08-2009, 09:25 PM.

Re: Overclocking wear and tear?

I'm no expert in this area, however, if everything is exactly the same as it was a few years ago and now the CPU requires a little more voltage to maintain the same stability it once did, I would say yes, it does sound like something has changed within the CPU. Did you Google this to see if there is anything on it?
    CM Storm Trooper - Corsair AX1200
    Asus Rampage IV Extreme - i7 3930k - Corsair H100 cooling
    16GB Corsair Vengeance Memory - 2xGTX 580 SLI + GTX 460 PhysX - 3x500GB HDD + 240GB Mushkin + 2x256GB Crucial SSD
    Sony & Asus Optical Drives - Logitech C310, G15, G13, G700

Comment

Thanks for the replay Hameister!