30+ mV difference between BIOS CPU Vcore and CPU-Z reported Vcore

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 30+ mV difference between BIOS CPU Vcore and CPU-Z reported Vcore

I'm still pretty new to overclocking (although I can tell already I'm quite hooked :). This is my first overclock.

I've been studying this forum for several days now and have already learned enough to get my EP45-UD3P/Q9550 box running stably at 3.8 MHz (475x8). Many thanks to all of you who have contributed to this great knowledge-base.

Just a quick question.

I'm noticing what seems to me to be a pretty big difference between the CPU Vcore I set in the BIOS and the one reported by CPU-Z (and every other monitor I have that shows Vcore, e.g. Everest, etc.)

BIOS Setting: 1.37500
    CPU-Z Reading: 1.3440
    Delta: 31 mV

I have Load Line Calibration (LLC) switched on, before it was even greater under load, when the sag kicked in.

My question is, is it normal to observe such a large delta between the BIOS setting and the sensor reading?

And if so, should the maximum rated voltage for the CPU (1.3625 in my case) be based on the BIOS setting or the one the sensor is showing?

Thanks much for any guidance you can offer on this.

Re: 30+ mV difference between BIOS CPU Vcore and CPU-Z reported Vcore

Ok, after further study on this forum I think I'm able to answer my own question, for the benefit of any other newbs who might find this thread on search.

I appeal to more experienced and wiser overclockers to either confirm or correct my statements.

----

There are three voltages related to CPU core that are of interest to overclockers. I'm not sure they all have official names, but for the sake of discussion I'll use the following three terms:

<ul>
    <li>CPU Core (BIOS)</li>
    <li>CPU Core (Sensor at idle)</li>
    <li>CPU Core (Sensor at load)</li>
    </ul>

CPU Core (BIOS) is the voltage level set in the BIOS (say 1.2500 for example)